What I’m Excited for at Cannes 2013

So last year I did a thing on Facebook where I wrote a short list of what I was excited for (or not excited for) at the Cannes film festival (Did Thomas Vinterberg’s The Hunt ever come out here?). So I thought I’d do a similar thing for the blog this year.  Let’s get down to it.

Cannes-Film-Festival

Peter’s Cannes 2013 List

Only God Forgives
dir: Nicholas Winding Refn
Starring: Ryan Gosling, Kristin Scott Thomas

Okay, I’m not really being original with my opinion here (don’t worry controversy’s a-comin’) but I really loved Drive, Refn’s previous effort.  Only God Forgives seems very similar in the sense that it’s an urban crime movie starring Ryan Gosling.  If Refn can repeat and improve  what he did with Drive, I’m sure to love this one too.

Nebraska
dir: Alexander Payne
Starring: Bruce Dern, Will Forte

Now there’s this list of 90s auteurs with sterling reputations that I tend to be a little cooler on than most (again, this will come up later).  Alexander Payne is definitely one of them.  I love Citizen Ruth, but don’t like The Descendents or Election very much at all. That said, maybe he’ll strike jackpot with this one.

Inside Llewyn Davis
dir: Joel and Ethan Cohen
Starring: Oscar Issac, Carey Mulligan

Here’s were I get weird. I have liked precisely two Cohen brothers movies. Ever.  They are Oh Brother, Where Art Thou and True Grit.  Every other movie of theirs ranges from “eh…” (The Big Lebowski) to “wow do I ever hate this!” (Burn After Reading).  Not excited for this one at all.

The Past
dir: Asghar Farhadi
Starring: Berenice Bejo, Tahar Rahim

If A Separation doesn’t turn out to be my favorite movie of the decade, it’ll certainly be up there. I doubt that Asghar Farhadi will be able to top it, but even if it’s just a lateral move I am so there. Also, Berenice Bejo was really winning in both The Artist and OSS 117: Cairo, Nest of Spies and I can’t wait to see how she’ll do with more emotionally demanding fare.

Only Lovers Left Alive
dir: Jim Jarmusch
Starring: Tom Hiddleston, Tilda Swinton

I was wondering when Jarmusch would get in on the vampire craze.  I’ll watch it. Tilda Swinton as a vampire? Good. Mia Wasakakakakakakfoindingdong as her daughter? Good.

Behind the Candelabra
dir: Stephen Soderberg
Starring: Micheal Douglas, Matt Daemon

So we’ve all seen through Stephen Soderberg’s empty threat to stop directing right? Well this looks like it could be good, but certainly doesn’t seem like the sort of thing he’d finish out his career on. You’d think he’d want to go out with a bang.

Venus in Fur
dir: Roman Polanski
Starring: Emmanuelle Seigner, Mathieu Amalric

I’ve been interested in this play for a while ever since Joe Reid was talking about it on the (late) Extra Hot Great podcast.  Now, Roman Polanski is bringing it to the screen.  I heard strongly okay things about Carnage, his last adaptation of a play, but I have a feeling that it stems from shortcomings in the play rather than the adaptation.

On the other hand, this play is about a playwright so it has the potential to be massively annoying in the worst way.

So that’s my list! If you’ve got any movies that you’re looking forward to or dreading at Cannes 2013 let everyone know in the comments!

Oh wait, I forgot something:

As I Lay Dying
dir: James Franco
Starring: James Franco

Directed by and Starring James Franco

Directed by and Starring James Franco

Directed by and Starring James Franco

Sorry+to+anybody+else+who+already+made+this+and+posted+_c93dc5f0e455c9cffff7060df3212c33

Leave a comment